James 4:7-10

Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. 8 Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded. 9 Be wretched and mourn and weep. Let your laughter be turned to mourning and your joy to gloom. 10 Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will exalt you.

I was just going to memorize 4:7 although I wanted to add the draw near to God part, but then stop.  However, I think I need to memorize up through 10.  I need to begin at the beginning and that is to acknowledge that I can’t do this on my own, that my very nature gets in the way.  I would like to forget that I am a sinner, but I cant, because I am.  I don’t wallow in it though because my essence is in the one who redeemed me and therefore although my nature does not change, my identity does. 

